MyCoE

College Council

Functions of This Committee

According to the College of Engineering bylaws, the College Council shall be responsible for:

  • Calling a meeting of the College Faculty if requested,
  • Considering and recommending policies and procedures to the Dean and the College Executive Committee, prior to implementation or submission to the College Faculty for action in all matters of interest to the faculty including, but not limited to:
    • appointment
    • tenure and promotion (except the review of specific cases, which is the purview of the Council on Promotion and Tenure)
    • professional leave
    • compensation (including salary and fringe benefits),
    • annual evaluations,
    • academic freedom,
    • ethical conduct,
    • affirmative action,
    • consulting,
    • college allocation of resources such as space and matching funds, and
    • inter-disciplinary research and teaching activities;
  • Resolution at an informal level of intra-college differences between faculty and administrators upon written request of either of the two parties,
  • Making recommendations to the Dean regarding the College budget and resource allocation.

Committee Roster

DEPARTMENT
NAME
EMAIL
A&A Dana Dabiri dabiri@aa.washington.edu
BioE Paul Yager yagerp@uw.edu
CEE Marc Eberhard eberhard@uw.edu
ChemE Shaoyi Jiang sjiang@uw.edu
CSE Walter (Larry) Ruzzo ruzzo@cs.washington.edu
ECE Sumit Roy sroy@uw.edu
HCDE Charlotte Lee cplee@uw.edu
ISE Thomas Furness tfurness@uw.edu
ME Steve Shen ishen@uw.edu
MSE Guozhong Cao gzcao@uw.edu