Admission

Graduate Admission

UW Engineering offers programs for engineers to learn new skills, boost their careers, or delve into academic research.

Admission

The UW Graduate School has minimum admission requirements for all students seeking graduate degrees. All prospective engineering graduate students submit their applications via the Graduate School.

In addition to the minimum UW requirements, each department has their own admissions requirements and application deadlines. Locate the engineering programs of interest to you, and learn about the requirements for each program. If you have questions about a particular program, contact the advisers for that program, who can be found in the Adviser Directory below.

Engineering researchers

Engineering graduate programs

Many engineering departments have both full-time, research-focused graduate programs that culminate in a Ph.D. as well as professional master's programs that can accommodate your work schedule.

All degree programs by department »
Engineering departments and the bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees they offer.
Professional master's and certificate programs by department »
Programs held online or scheduled part-time and during evenings to accommodate work schedules.

UW Graduate School

See the UW Graduate School website for information on the admissions process and funding.

 

Department advisers — graduate and undergrad

Department Adviser Directory

When mailing information to the individuals listed below, for all departments, the rest of the mailing address is:

University of Washington Seattle, WA 98195-_ _ _ _ (use last four digits of campus box number)

Expand All | Collapse All

William E. Boeing Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics

Undergraduate

Stanley Choi,
Academic Adviser, Undergraduate Programs
211B Guggenheim Hall, Box 352400
(206) 616-1115
stanchoi@aa.washington.edu

Graduate

Danyel Hacker,
Academic Adviser, Graduate Programs
211C Guggenheim Hall, Box 352400
206-685-7250
danyel@aa.washington.edu

Bioengineering

Advising staff

Peggy Sharp,
Academic Counselor, Graduate Programs
(206) 685-3494
peggys55@uw.edu

Kalei Combs,
Academic Program Coordinator
(206) 221-5448
kaleic@uw.edu

Chetana Acharya,
Academic Counselor, Undergraduate Programs
(206) 221-6695
cacharya@uw.edu

General Inquiries

bioeng@uw.edu
3720 15th Ave. NE
Box 355061
Seattle, WA 98195-5061

Chemical Engineering

Undergraduate

Dave Drischell,
Academic Services Director
137C Benson Hall, Box 351750
(206) 543-2252
rdd@uw.edu

Nicole Minkoff,
Undergraduate Adviser
137A Benson Hall, Box 351750
(206) 685-1634
nminkoff@uw.edu

Graduate

Allison Sherrill,
Graduate Student Advisor
137B Benson, Box 351750
(206) 685-9785
sherra@uw.edu

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Undergraduate

Mariko Navin,
Academic Counselor, Lead
201G More Hall
(206) 543-5092
mnavin@uw.edu

Brian Kinnear,
Undergraduate Adviser
201K More Hall
(206) 221-2181
kinnear@uw.edu

Graduate

Bryan Crockett,
Director of Academic Services
201F More Hall
(206) 616-1891
bryantc@uw.edu

Melissa Pritchard,
Graduate Program Adviser
201F More Hall
(206) 543-2574
chaelan@uw.edu

Eric Huberty,
Temporary Academic Counselor
201 More Hall
(206) 616-3853
ehuberty@uw.edu

Online Graduate programs

Dayna Cole,
Online Graduate Program Adviser,
Online Master of Sustainable Transportation program
Online MSCE: Construction Engineering program
Online MSCE: Energy Infrastructure

201J More Hall
(206) 685-2312
dmcole@uw.edu

Jennifer Ross,
Online Graduate Program Adviser,
Supply Chain Transportation & Logistics
109 Wilson Ceramics Lab
(206) 685-2227
sctl@uw.edu

Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering

Undergraduate

Crystal Eney, Director of Student Services
Raven Avery Alexander, Assistant Director for Diversity and Outreach
Chloe Dolese, Academic Adviser
Jenifer Pesicka Hiigli, Academic Adviser - Senior
Maggie Ryan, Academic Adviser
Lacey Schmidt, Academic Adviser
Pim Lustig, Course Coordinator
Paul G. Allen Center for Computer Science & Engineering, Room CSE 101. Check in at the front desk for all appointments.
(206) 543-1695
ugrad-advisor@cs.washington.edu

Graduate

Elise DeGoede Dorough,
Adviser
AC132 Allen Center, Box 352350
(206) 685-1369
elised@cs.washington.edu

Garrett Yoshitomi,
Advising Program Coordinator
Allen Center AC 206
(206) 221-0295
ggy2@cs.washington.edu

Arvind Krishnamurthy,
Graduate Program Coordinator
Allen Center CSE 544
(206) 616-0957
arvind@cs.washington.edu

Professional Master's

Dave Rispoli,
Professional Master's Program Adviser
(206) 543-5848
rispoli@cs.washington.edu

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Undergraduate general inquiries

undergrad@ece.washington.edu
Campus Box 352500
185 Stevens Way
Paul Allen Center – Room AE100R
Seattle, WA 98195-2500
206-221-5270

Undergraduate advisers

Stephanie Swanson,
Manager of Undergraduate Programs
(206) 221-5782
stepswan@uw.edu

Katherine Sykes,
Academic Counselor
206-543-4924
klsykes@uw.edu

Stephen Graham,
Program Assistant
AE 100R Paul G. Allen Center, Box 352500
206-543-2142
grahams@uw.edu

Graduate general inquiries

grad@ece.uw.edu
Campus Box 352500
185 Stevens Way
Paul Allen Center – Room AE100R
Seattle, WA 98195-2500
206-221-5270
brenda16@uw.edu

Graduate advisers

Brenda Larson,
Lead Graduate Program Adviser
MSEE and PhD programs
AE142 Allen Center, Box 352500
206-616-1351
brenda16@uw.edu

May Lim,
Professional Programs Manager
Professional Master's Program
AE144 Allen Center, Box 352500
206-543-9667
smlim@uw.edu

Human Centered Design & Engineering

Undergraduate

Alex Llapitan
Academic Counselor
428B Sieg Hall, Box 352315
(206) 221-6230
alex310@uw.edu

Graduate & Certificate

Kathleen Rascon
Academic Counselor, Professional Master’s and Certificate
428 Sieg Hall, Box 352315
(206) 543-4257
khorenst@uw.edu

Patricia Reilly
Student Services Manager, PhD
428C Sieg Hall, Box 352315
(206) 543-1798
preilly@uw.edu

Industrial & Systems Engineering

Undergraduate and Graduate

Jennifer Tsai
Academic Adviser, Undergraduate and Ph.D.
G7 ME Building, Box 352650
(206) 543-5041
ieadvise@uw.edu

Sheila Prusa
Academic Adviser, Master's Degrees and Certificate Programs
G15 ME Building, Box 352650
(206) 616-6719
isemengr@uw.edu

Materials Science & Engineering

Undergraduate

Sandra Maddox
302A Roberts Hall, Box 352120
(206) 616-6581
sbmaddox@uw.edu

Graduate

Karen Wetterhahn
302B Roberts Hall, Box 352120
(206) 543-2740
karenlw@u.washington.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Undergraduate

ME undergraduate advising email: meadvise@uw.edu

Lynn Girardeau
Undergraduate Adviser
143B ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 685-0908

Kendra Burdett
Academic Counselor
148 ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 616-5844

Graduate

ME graduate advising email: megrad@uw.edu

Wanwisa Kisalang
Graduate Academic Adviser, Ph.D.
143C ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 543-7963

Kate Gayle
Academic Counselor, Master's Programs
145 ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 616-0981

Bioresource Science and Engineering

Michelle Trudeau,
Director of Student & Academic Services
116 Anderson Hall, Box 352100
(206) 616-15338
michtru@uw.edu

Undergraduate

Lisa Nordlund,
Undergraduate Counseling Services Coordinator
116 Anderson Hall, Box 352100
(206) 543-3077
nord@uw.edu

Graduate

David Campbell,
Graduate Counseling Services Coordinator
116 Anderson Hall, Box 352100
(206) 543-7081
davidc23@uw.edu