Admission

Graduate Admission

UW Engineering offers programs for engineers to learn new skills, boost their careers, or delve into academic research.

Admission

The UW Graduate School has minimum admission requirements for all students seeking graduate degrees. All prospective engineering graduate students submit their applications via the Graduate School.

In addition to the minimum UW requirements, each department has their own admissions requirements and application deadlines. Locate the engineering programs of interest to you, and learn about the requirements for each program. If you have questions about a particular program, contact the advisers for that program, who can be found in the Adviser Directory below.

Engineering researchers

Engineering graduate programs

Many engineering departments have both full-time, research-focused graduate programs that culminate in a Ph.D. as well as professional master's programs that can accommodate your work schedule.

All degree programs by department »
Engineering departments and the bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees they offer.
Professional master's and certificate programs by department »
Programs held online or scheduled part-time and during evenings to accommodate work schedules.

UW Graduate School

See the UW Graduate School website for information on the admissions process and funding.

Department advisers — graduate and undergrad

When mailing information to the individuals listed below, for all departments, the rest of the mailing address is: University of Washington Seattle, WA 98195-_ _ _ _ (use last four digits of campus box number)

Undergraduate

Stanley Choi,
Academic Adviser, Undergraduate Programs
211B Guggenheim Hall, Box 352400
(206) 616-1115
stanchoi@aa.washington.edu

Graduate

Danyel Hacker,
Academic Adviser, Graduate Programs
211C Guggenheim Hall, Box 352400
206-685-7250
danyel@aa.washington.edu

Advising staff

Chetana Acharya,
Academic Counselor, Undergraduate Programs
cacharya@uw.edu

Kalei Combs,
Academic Counselor, Graduate Programs
kaleic@uw.edu

Danafe Matusalem,,
Academic Services Specialist
General Inquiries

bioeng@uw.edu
3720 15th Ave. NE
Box 355061
Seattle, WA 98195-5061
(206) 685-2000

Undergraduate

Dave Drischell,
Academic Services Director
137C Benson Hall, Box 351750
(206) 543-2252
rdd@uw.edu

Nicole Minkoff,
Undergraduate Adviser
137A Benson Hall, Box 351750
(206) 685-1634
nminkoff@uw.edu

Graduate

Allison Sherrill,
Graduate Student Advisor
137B Benson, Box 351750
(206) 685-9785
sherra@uw.edu

Undergraduate

Lauren Cushner,
Program Coordinator
More Hall 201
(206) 221-9165
laurcush@uw.edu

Charlotte Emigh,
Undergraduate Academic Adviser
201 More Hall 
(206) 543-5092
cemigh@uw.edu

Brian Kinnear,
Undergraduate Adviser
201K More Hall
(206) 221-2181
kinnear@uw.edu

Graduate

Bryan Crockett,
Director of Academic Services
201F More Hall
(206) 616-1891
bryantc@uw.edu

Eric Huberty,
Graduate Program Adviser
201J More Hall
(206) 616-3853
ehuberty@uw.edu

Online Graduate programs

Jennifer Ross,
Online Graduate Program Adviser,
109 Wilson Ceramics Lab
(206) 685-2227
jenross1@uw.edu

Undergraduate

Crystal Eney, Director of Student Services
Jenifer Pesicka Hiigli, Academic Adviser - Lead
Chloe Dolese, Program Manager for Diversity and Outreach
Maggie Ryan, Academic Adviser - Senior
Leslie Ikeda, Academic Adviser
Chelsea Navarro, Academic Adviser
Kim Nguyen, Academic/Career Adviser
Pim Lustig, Course Coordinator
Paul G. Allen Center for Computer Science & Engineering, Room CSE 101. Check in at the front desk for all appointments.
206-543-1695
ugrad-advisor@cs.washington.edu

Graduate

Elise DeGoede Dorough,
Director of Graduate Student Services
CSE2 162
206-685-1369
elised@cs.washington.edu

Les Sessoms,
Recruitment & Retention Specialist
CSE2 163
206-221-2784  
lsessoms@cs.washington.edu

Elle Brown,
Advising Program Coordinator
CSE2 161
206-543-2656  
ellean@cs.washington.edu

Anna Karlin,
Associate Director for Graduate Studies & Graduate Program Coordinator
Allen Center CSE 594
206-543-9344
karlin@cs.washington.edu

Professional Master's

Dave Rispoli,
Professional Master's Program Adviser
206-543-5848
rispoli@cs.washington.edu

Stephanie Swanson,
Director of Academic Services
(206) 221-5782
stepswan@uw.edu

Undergraduate general inquiries

undergrad@ece.uw.edu
Campus Box 352500
185 Stevens Way
Paul Allen Center – Room AE100R
Seattle, WA 98195-2500
206-221-5270

Undergraduate advisers

Katherine Sykes,
Lead Academic Counselor
206-543-4924
klsykes@uw.edu

Whitney Thomas,
Academic Counselor
206-221-7913
wthomas1@uw.edu

Graduate general inquiries

Jennifer Huberman,
Coordinator, Graduate Programs
Campus Box 352500
185 Stevens Way
Paul Allen Center – Room AE100R
Seattle, WA 98195-2500
206-221-5270
grad@ece.uw.edu

Graduate advisers

Brenda Larson,
Lead Graduate Program Adviser
MSEE and PhD programs
AE142 Allen Center, Box 352500
206-616-1351
brenda16@uw.edu

May Lim,
Professional Programs Manager
Professional Master's Program
AE144 Allen Center, Box 352500
206-543-9667
smlim@uw.edu

Undergraduate

Alex Llapitan
Academic Counselor - Senior
428B Sieg Hall, Box 352315
(206) 221-6230
alex310@uw.edu

Graduate & Certificate

Kathleen Rascon
Academic Counselor - Senior
Professional Master’s and Certificate Programs
428 Sieg Hall, Box 352315
(206) 543-4257
khorenst@uw.edu

Patricia Reilly
Academic Services Director
PhD
428C Sieg Hall, Box 352315
(206) 543-1798
preilly@uw.edu

Undergraduate and Graduate

Jennifer Tsai
Academic Adviser, Undergraduate and Ph.D.
G7 ME Building, Box 352650
(206) 543-5041
ieadvise@uw.edu

Sheila Prusa
Academic Adviser, Master's Degrees and Certificate Programs
G15 ME Building, Box 352650
(206) 616-6719
isemengr@uw.edu

Undergraduate

Sandra Maddox
Academic Adviser, Undergraduate Programs
302A Roberts Hall, Box 352120
(206) 616-6581
sbmaddox@uw.edu

Graduate

Karen Wetterhahn
Academic Adviser, Graduate Programs
302B Roberts Hall, Box 352120
(206) 543-2740
karenlw@uw.edu

Undergraduate

ME undergraduate advising email: meadvise@uw.edu

Lynn Girardeau
Undergraduate Adviser
143B ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 685-0908

Kendra Burdett
Academic Counselor
148 ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 616-5844

Graduate

ME graduate advising email: megrad@uw.edu

Wanwisa Kisalang
Graduate Academic Counselor-Lead, Ph.D. program
143C ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 543-7963

Kate Gayle
Academic Counselor, Master's Programs
145 ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 616-0981

Michelle Trudeau,
Director of Student & Academic Services
116 Anderson Hall, Box 352100
(206) 616-15338
michtru@uw.edu

Undergraduate

Lisa Nordlund,
Undergraduate Counseling Services Coordinator
116 Anderson Hall, Box 352100
(206) 543-3077
nord@uw.edu

Graduate

David Campbell,
Graduate Counseling Services Coordinator
116 Anderson Hall, Box 352100
(206) 543-7081
davidc23@uw.edu