Skip to main content

MyCoE

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion resources

Anti-racism   DEI assessment   Fostering inclusion calendar    Council of diversity advocates

This area serves as a resource repository maintained by the Office of Inclusive Excellence. Its contents are intended for use by the faculty and staff at the College of Engineering and its departments.

COMING SOON

The Office of Inclusive Excellence will be launching training on Sovereignty and Land Acknowledgments for College of Engineering faculty and staff in the spring quarter.

This resource will:

  • Give historical context to Tribal Sovereignty in the United States
  • Talk about the meaning of land acknowledgments and best practices for including them
  • Provide guidance on the proper way to incorporate land acknowledgments into your classrooms and services

Stay tuned for more information in the coming weeks.

 

Anti-Racism and creating a welcoming environment for all

Following are some of the ways racism has shown up in the College of Engineering. These actions are endemic of a long-standing problem. As we strive to build an inclusive and equitable environment for learning, research, service and outreach we ask you to review and reflect on these instances and consider the role you can play in creating a welcoming environment for all.

Read more

 

Fostering inclusion calendar

Culture is one of the overarching pillars the College of Engineering pursues in our vision and commitment to building an inclusive and equitable community for all students, staff, faculty, and community members. This calendar aims to acknowledge and increase understanding of diverse cultures, traditions, values, and beliefs.

Explore and save the calendar

 
 

The DEI assessment

The College engaged an external consulting firm, Erolin Solutions, to assess climate and build a strategic and sustainable approach to achieve diversity, equity and inclusion, in order to help the College meet the DEIS goals outlined through the Strategic Planning process.

Read more (login with NetID)

 

Council of Diversity Advocates (CODA) members

Department Diversity Committee Reps Email
A&A Kristi Morgansen morgansen@aa.washington.edu
BioE Wendy Thomas wendyt@uw.edu
Lara Gamble lgamble@uw.edu
ChemE Cole DeForest profcole@uw.edu
Elizabeth Nance eanance@uw.edu
Lilo Pozzo dpozzo@uw.edu
CEE Jessica Kaminsky jkaminsk@uw.edu
Julian Marshall jdmarsh@uw.edu
CSE Yoshi Kohno yoshi@cs.washington.edu
Kevin Lin kevinl@cs.uw.edu
Lauren Bricker bricker@cs.washington.edu
ECE Sam Burden sburden@uw.edu
Mickey Schulz lethe@uw.edu
HCDE Leah Findlater leahkf@uw.edu
Kathleen Rascon khorenst@uw.edu
ISE Linda Ng Boyle linda@uw.edu
Archis Ghate archis@uw.edu
MSE Navid Zobeiry navidz@uw.edu
Ellie Roumeli eroumeli@uw.edu
ME Nate Sniadecki nsniadec@uw.edu
Kendra Burdett kburdett@uw.edu
CoE Dan Ratner dratner@uw.edu
Cathryne Jordan jordancl@uw.edu
Lynne Spencer lspencer@uw.edu
Priscilla Yoon plyoon@uw.edu
Scott Pinkham spinkham@uw.edu
Sheldon Levias srl1@uw.edu
Virginia Vacchiery vlv@uw.edu
Shanai Lechtenberg lechts@uw.edu
Robin Clayton robin712@uw.edu
Deirdre Sumida deirdres@uw.edu
SWE Hilda Pacheco hildap@uw.edu
ECE Jordan Drew jadrew43@uw.edu