Future Students

Graduate Admission

UW Engineering offers programs for engineers to learn new skills, boost their careers, or delve into academic research.

Admission

The UW Graduate School has minimum admission requirements for all students seeking graduate degrees. All prospective engineering graduate students submit their applications via the Graduate School.

In addition to the minimum UW requirements, each department has their own admissions requirements and application deadlines. Locate the engineering programs of interest to you, and learn about the requirements for each program. If you have questions about a particular program, contact the advisers for that program, who can be found in the Adviser Directory below.

Engineering researchers

Engineering graduate programs

Many engineering departments have both full-time, research-focused graduate programs that culminate in a Ph.D. as well as professional master's programs that can accommodate your work schedule.

All degree programs by department »
Engineering departments and the bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees they offer.
Professional master's and certificate programs by department »
Programs held online or scheduled part-time and during evenings to accommodate work schedules.

UW Graduate School

See the UW Graduate School website for information on the admissions process and funding.

 

Department advisers — graduate and undergrad

Department Adviser Directory

When mailing information to the individuals listed below, for all departments, the rest of the mailing address is:

University of Washington Seattle, WA 98195-_ _ _ _ (use last four digits of campus box number)

Expand All | Collapse All

William E. Boeing Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics

Undergraduate

Stanley Choi,
Academic Adviser, Undergraduate Programs
211B Guggenheim Hall, Box 352400
(206) 616-1115
stanchoi@aa.washington.edu

Graduate

Ed Connery,
Director of Student Services
211A Guggenheim Hall, Box 352400
206-543-6725
econnery@aa.washington.edu

Bioengineering

General Inquiries

bioeng@uw.edu
3720 15th Ave. NE
Box 355061
Seattle, WA 98195-5061

Undergraduate

Clay Schwenn,
Director of Academic Services
(206) 685-2022
cschwenn@uw.edu

Holly Williams,
Academic Counselor, Undergraduate Programs
(206) 616-2423
hollyw92@uw.edu

Kalei Combs,
Academic Program Coordinator
(206) 221-5448
kaleic@uw.edu

Graduate

Peggy Sharp,
Academic Counselor, Graduate Programs
3720 15th Ave. NE, Box 355061
Seattle, WA 98195-5061
(206) 685-3494
peggys55@uw.edu

Chetana Acharya,
Academic Counselor, Master’s Programs
3720 15th Ave. NE, Box 355061
Seattle, WA 98195-5061
(206) 221-6695
cacharya@uw.edu

Chemical Engineering

Undergraduate

Dave Drischell,
Academic Services Director
349 Benson Hall, Box 351750
(206) 543-2252
rdd@uw.edu

Nicole Minkoff,
Undergraduate Adviser
105 Benson Hall, Box 351750
(206) 685-1634
chemeadv@uw.edu

Graduate

Allison Sherrill,
Adviser, Graduate Programs
259 Benson, Box 351750
(206) 685-9785
sherra@uw.edu

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Undergraduate

Mariko Navin,
Undergraduate Program Adviser
201G More Hall
(206) 543-5092
mnavin@uw.edu

Brian Kinnear,
Undergraduate Program Adviser
201 More Hall
(206) 221-2181
kinnear@uw.edu

Graduate

Lorna Latal,
Graduate Program Adviser
201F More Hall
(206) 543-2574
ceginfo@uw.edu

Jennifer Ross,
Graduate Program Adviser
201J More Hall
(206) 616-1891
ceginfo@uw.edu

Online Graduate programs

Dayna Cole,
Online Graduate Program Adviser,
Supply Chain Transportation and Logistics
(206) 685-2312
103 Wilson Ceramics Lab
dmcole@uw.edu

Megan Reardon,
Adviser,
Sustainable Transportation and Construction Engineering
(206) 221-6407
121 More Hall
mreardon@uw.edu

Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering

Undergraduate

Crystal Eney, Director of Student Services
Raven Avery Alexander, Assistant Director for Diversity and Outreach
Chloe Dolese, Undergraduate Adviser
Jenifer Pesicka, Undergraduate Adviser
Maggie Ryan, Undergraduate Adviser
AC101 Allen Center, Box 352350
(206) 543-1695
ugrad-advisor@cs.washington.edu

Graduate

Elise DeGoede Dorough,
Adviser
AC132 Allen Center, Box 352350
(206) 685-1369
elised@cs.washington.edu

Professional Master's

Dave Rispoli,
Professional Master's Program Adviser
(206) 543-5848
rispoli@cs.washington.edu

Electrical Engineering

Undergraduate

Dana Hansen,
Academic Counselor
AE 100R Paul G. Allen Center, Box 352500
(206) 543-6194
undergrad@ee.washington.edu

Stephanie Swanson,
Academic Counselor
AE 100R Paul G. Allen Center, Box 352500
(206) 221-5782
undergrad@ee.washington.edu

Graduate

Brenda Larson,
Graduate Advising Coordinator
AE142 Allen Center, Box 352500
(206) 616-1351
brenda@ee.washington.edu

Human Centered Design & Engineering

Undergraduate

Alex Llapitan
Academic Counselor
428B Sieg Hall, Box 352315
(206) 221-6230
alex310@uw.edu

Graduate & Certificate

Kathleen Rascon
Academic Counselor, Professional Master’s and Certificate
428 Sieg Hall, Box 352315
(206) 543-4257
khorenst@uw.edu

Patricia Reilly
Student Services Manager, PhD
428C Sieg Hall, Box 352315
(206) 543-1798
preilly@uw.edu

Industrial & Systems Engineering

Undergraduate and Graduate

Jennifer Tsai
Academic Adviser, Undergraduate and Ph.D.
G7 ME Building, Box 352650
(206) 543-5041
ieadvise@uw.edu

Sheila Prusa
Academic Adviser, Master's Degrees and Certificate Programs
G15 ME Building, Box 352650
(206) 616-6719
isemengr@uw.edu

Interdisciplinary Engineering

Undergraduate and Graduate

Academic Advising
301 Loew Hall, Box 352180
(206) 543-1770

Materials Science & Engineering

Undergraduate

Sandra Maddox
302A Roberts Hall, Box 352120
(206) 616-6581
sbmaddox@uw.edu

Graduate

Karen Wetterhahn
302B Roberts Hall, Box 352120
(206) 543-2740
karenlw@u.washington.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Undergraduate

ME undergraduate advising email: meadvise@uw.edu

Lynn Girardeau
Undergraduate Adviser
143B ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 685-0908

Kendra Burdett
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
143A ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 616-5844

Graduate

ME graduate advising email: megrad@uw.edu

Wanwisa Kisalang
Graduate Academic Adviser, Ph.D.
143C ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 543-7963

Kate Gayle
Counseling Services Coordinator, Master's Programs
145 ME Building, Box 352600
(206) 616-0981

Bioresource Science and Engineering

Michelle Trudeau,
Director of Student & Academic Services
116 Anderson Hall, Box 352100
(206) 616-15338
michtru@uw.edu

Undergraduate

Lisa Nordlund,
Undergraduate Counseling Services Coordinator
116 Anderson Hall, Box 352100
(206) 543-3077
nord@uw.edu

Graduate

David Campbell,
Graduate Counseling Services Coordinator
116 Anderson Hall, Box 352100
(206) 543-7081
davidc23@uw.edu